Countries with asbestos bans

Asbestos has been banned in Australia since 2003. All other OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) countries, except for Mexico and the United States, have also banned asbestos.

The list below shows all countries that have a ban on all types of asbestos.

If you are importing goods into Australia from any of the places on this list with asbestos bans, it is less likely that the goods will contain asbestos.


Country Date/year ban came into force
Algeria 14-Oct-09
Argentina 1-Jan-03
Australia 31-Dec-03
Bahrain 1996
Brazil 2017
Brunei Date to be determined
Canada 30-Dec-2018
Chile 12-Jul-01
Djibouti 1999
Egypt 2005
European Union: Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Lithuania, Malta, Romania, Portugal, Slovakia, Bulgaria, Spain, Luxembourg, Latvia, Ireland, United Kingdom, Belgium, France, Germany, Poland, Slovenia, Croatia, Italy, Finland, The Netherlands, Austria, Denmark, Sweden, Gibraltar, Liechtenstein, Norway, Monaco Commenced in 1983, with complete ban on all forms of asbestos in all 28 member states by 1 January 2005.
Gabon between 2002 and 2004
Honduras 2004
Iceland 1983
Iraq 2016
Israel 2011
Japan 1-Mar-12
Jordan 16-Aug-06
Korea (South) 2009
Kuwait 1995
Norway 1984
Macedonia (North Macedonia) 2014
Mauritius 2004
Moldova 2016
Mozambique 24-Aug-10
New Caledonia 2007
New Zealand 1-Oct-16
Norway 1984
Oman 2008
Qatar 2010
Saudi Arabia 1998
Serbia 2011
Seychelles 2009
South Africa 28-Mar-08
Taiwan 2010
Turkey 2010
Ukraine Jun-17
Uruguay May-02

This list was compiled by Laurie Kazan-Allen, from the International Ban Asbestos Secretariat.