Coronavirus (COVID-19): If you need information about asbestos safety during the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, please see our page here. If you need any general coronavirus information please see the Australian Government website. Asbestos related diseases also affect the respiratory system, just like coronavirus. If you have health concerns call your doctor or call the coronavirus hotline (24/7) - 1800 020 080.

Sampling and testing for asbestos

Goods can be tested before importation by an Australian laboratory or an accredited laboratory overseas to see if asbestos is present. For more information see the Australian Border Force's fact sheet: “Sampling goods for testing for the presence of asbestos.”

Testing products prior to shipments leaving the country of origin helps to prevent inadvertently importing asbestos into Australia. There have been cases of illegal asbestos imports resulting in the issuing of safety alerts and recalls.

The following Australian laboratories hold permits to import samples to test for asbestos prior to importation of the whole product. You can contact them directly to arrange sample testing of your product.

Importer Contact details

Bureau Veritas HSE

Contact: Trent Elms

Phone: 0490 327 062

Email: trent.elms@bureauveritas.com

Address: Unit 3/435 Williamstown Road, Port Melbourne, Victoria 3207

Meta Maya Environmental Pty Ltd

Contact: Jordan Hare

Phone: 08 9455 7441

Mobile: 0427 910 390

Email: enquiries@metamaya.com.au

Address: 

Unit 5, 78-84 Catalano Circuit, Canning Vale, WA 6156

Chepstowe Environments

Contact: Nick Bennett

Mobile: 0476 270 694

Email: nbennett@chepstowe.com.au

Address: PO Box 6135, Cromer VIC 3193 / 13 Wells Road, Beaumaris, VIC 3193

Safe Environments Pty Limited

Contact: Mr Carl Strautins

Phone: 02 9621 3706

Mobile: 0416 224 460

Email: Carl@SafeEnvironments.com.au

Address: Unit 4, 40 Bessemer Street, Blacktown, NSW 2148

Asbestos Audit & Environmental Audit Pty Ltd (AARMS)

Contact: Andrew Mantle

Mobile: 0418 817 750

Email: Andrew@aarms.com.au

Office Address: Unit 8, 24-30 Davies Road, Claremont, WA 6010

Postal Address: PO Box 2106, Claremont North LOP WA 6010

Envirolab Services

Contact: Matthew Mansfield

Phone: 02 9910 6200

Email: mmansfield@envirolab.com.au

Address: 12 Ashley Street, Chatswood, NSW 2067

WSP

Contact: Clare Brockbank

Phone: 02 9272 5254

Email: ANZLab@wsp.com

Address: PO Box 20967, World Square, NSW 2002

Environmental & Laboratory Solutions Pty Ltd

Contact: Jesse Anderson

Phone: 07 3256 2302

Email: info@envirolabsolutions.com.au

Address: Unit 1, 42 Finsbury Street, Newmarket, QLD 4051

Lifetree Environment Pty Ltd

Contact: Steven C. Tan

Phone: 08 9354 7405

Email: info@lifetreeenvironmental.com.au

Address: Unit 6, 101 Collins Road, Willetton, WA 6155

COHLAB Pty Ltd

Contact: Michael Shepherd

Phone: 07 3015 7555

Email: m.shepherd@cohlabs.com.au

Address: Suite 2, 92 Cleveland Street, Greenslopes, QLD 4120

Greencap Pty Ltd

Contact: Megan Berryman

Phone: 07 3514 9221

Email: megan.berryman@greencap.com.au

Address: Level 1, 381 MacArthur Avenue, Hamilton, QLD 4007

SGS Australia Pty Ltd

Contact: Edward Ibrahim

Phone: 02 8594 0400

Email: edward.ibrahim@sgs.com

Address: 16/33 Maddox Street, Alexandria, NSW 2015

Robson Environmental Pty Ltd

Contact: John Robson

Phone: 02 6239 5656

Email: john@robsoneviro.com.au

Address: 140 Gladstone Street, Fyshwick, ACT 2609

Eurofins ARL Pty Ltd

Contact: Kimberley Rodgers

Phone: 08 6253 4444

Email: kimrodgers@eurofins.com

Address: 46-48 Banksia Road, Welshpool, WA 6106

Hibbs & Associates Pty Ltd

Contact: Philip Hibbs

Phone: 02 9746 3244

Email: Philip.Hibbs@hibbs.com.au

Address: Suite B, 255 Rawson Street, Auburn, NSW 2144

Coffey Services Australia Pty Ltd

Contact: Fred Easton

Phone: 08 6218 2043

Mobile: 0438 447 273

Email: Fred.Easton@coffey.com

Address: Level 1, 235 St Georges Terrace, Perth, WA 6000

OCTIEF Pty Ltd

Contact: Laura Smith

Phone: 1800 628 433

Mobile: 0402 767 769

Email: laura.smith@octief.com.au

Address: Unit 34 / 53-57 Link Drive, Yatala, QLD 4207 / PO Box 6033, Yatala DC, QLD 4207

Focus Environmental Pty Ltd

Contact: Hamish Cruickshank

Phone: 03 8680 4611

Email: hamish.cruickshank@focusenvironmental.com.au

Address: 599 Sydney Road, Coburg, VIC 3058

Microanalysis Australia Pty Ltd

Contact: Richard Hughes

Phone: 08 9225 5810

Email: admin@microanalysis.com.au

Address: 5 Alvan St, Mount Lawley, WA 6050

AMCOSH Pty Ltd

Contact: AMCOSH Pty Ltd

Phone: 1300 622 494

Email: enquiries@amcosh.com.au

Address: Unit 3 & 4, 112 Synnot Street, Werribee, VIC 3030

Enviroscience Solutions Pty Ltd

Contact: Juliet Duffy

Mobile: 0407 120 325

Email: info@enviroscience.com.au

Address: Unit 2 Number 3 Douglas Mawson Road, Dubbo, NSW 2830 / PO Box 1645, Dubbo, NSW 2830